CM Punjab Green Tractor Scheme came back on 1 November 2024 through digital balloting after a gap of twelve years. Since then, the scheme has run in phases with different tractor sizes and different subsidy levels. As of 4 November 2026, both of the latest phases are closed or balloted, and no phase is open for new applications.
Phase 4 went to digital balloting on 23 to 24 September 2026 for 10,000 tractors in the 50 to 65 HP range, with a subsidy of Rs750,000 each and a minimum landholding of 5 acres. Phase 5, the high-power round, opened on 23 September 2026 for 9,500 tractors in the 75 to 125 HP range, with a subsidy of Rs1,000,000 each and a minimum landholding of 7 acres. Its deadline was extended to 30 October 2026, with no further extension.
Tractors decide sowing and harvest timing for wheat growers across Punjab. Subsidy rounds therefore draw heavy interest, and the latest two phases closed within weeks of each other in autumn 2026.
Status: Closed
| Phase | Tractors | Power range | Subsidy each | Minimum land | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 1 | 9,500 | 50 to 85 HP | Rs1,000,000 | 1 to 50 acres | Closed 31 March 2025 |
| Phase 2 | 20,000 | Reported | Not specified in reporting | Not specified in reporting | Closed |
| Phase 4 | 10,000 | 50 to 65 HP | Rs750,000 | 5 acres | Balloted 23 to 24 September 2026 |
| Phase 5 | 9,500 | 75 to 125 HP | Rs1,000,000 | 7 acres | Closed 30 October 2026 |
Public reporting covered Phases 1, 2, 4, and 5 in detail. Phase 1 also included a separate ballot of 1,000 free tractors for wheat growers holding 25 to 50 acres. Farmers paid the ex-factory price minus the subsidy, and only approved local makes were covered, including Millat and Massey Ferguson as well as Al-Ghazi and New Holland.
Who could apply
Eligibility centred on residence, land ownership, and a clean banking record:
- Punjab resident with a valid CNIC
- Registered landowner with PLRA-verified land
- Tenant or sharecropper generally not eligible
- No bank default
- One tractor per family
Kisan Card was mandatory in the early stage of the scheme and was later removed for Phase 4. Land records had to be verified through PLRA before the ballot, so applicants with disputed or uncorrected records faced rejection at verification.
How applications worked
Applications ran through gts.punjab.gov.pk, with agripunjab.gov.pk as the alternate route, and applying was free of charge:
- Open gts.punjab.gov.pk
- Enter CNIC and land details
- Wait for PLRA auto-verification of land records
- Enter the digital ballot if verification passes
- Pay the balance amount to the dealer after allotment
Agriculture Department Punjab runs the scheme. Balloting was digital, which removed the need for manual draws and kept the allotment record in one place.
How the Green Tractor Scheme phases unfolded
Scheme relaunched on 1 November 2024 through digital balloting after a twelve-year gap. Phase 1 balloted 9,500 tractors in November 2024, with allotment letters issued afterward and the phase closing on 31 March 2025. Phase 2 followed in 2025 with 20,000 tractors reported. Phase 4 balloted 10,000 tractors on 23 to 24 September 2026 in the 50 to 65 HP range. Phase 5 opened on 23 September 2026 for high-power tractors, and its deadline moved to 30 October 2026 before closing with no further extension. Subsidy levels moved with each phase. Phase 1 and Phase 5 both carried Rs1,000,000 per tractor, while Phase 4 carried Rs750,000.
What to do now
With Phase 4 balloted and Phase 5 closed on 30 October 2026, farmers should watch gts.punjab.gov.pk for any new Green Tractor Scheme phase announcement. Land records verified through PLRA were the deciding document in every phase, and keeping those records corrected saves time later. Subsidy levels changed between phases, from Rs750,000 in Phase 4 to Rs1,000,000 in Phase 5, so a future phase may carry different terms again.
PLRA records deserve a check long before any new phase opens. Verification ran automatically against land records, and applicants with uncorrected records faced rejection before the ballot stage. One tractor per family also stayed fixed across phases, so a family that already gained one could not apply again.
Frequently asked questions
No. As of 4 November 2026, Phase 4 has been balloted and Phase 5 closed on 30 October 2026.
Rs1,000,000 per tractor for 9,500 tractors in the 75 to 125 HP range, with a minimum landholding of 7 acres.
No. Kisan Card was mandatory in the early stage and was later removed for Phase 4.
Generally no. Registered landowners with PLRA-verified land were eligible, while tenants and sharecroppers were generally not eligible.
One tractor per family.
Approved local makes included Millat and Massey Ferguson as well as Al-Ghazi and New Holland, among others listed in programme reporting.
Farmers paid the ex-factory price minus the subsidy to the dealer after allotment.









