CM Punjab Livestock Card Phase 2 was inaugurated on 14 October 2026, with the Chief Minister swiping a card at the launch. Phase 1 ran in 2024 to 2025 with 96% recovery reported. Phase 2 puts Rs16.2 billion into animal nutrition for 600,000 animals over two years, with farmers repaying principal only while government bears the interest.
Livestock feed costs press small farmers hard in winter, when wanda and silage prices climb. Phase 2 answers that pressure with nutrition finance rather than cash grants, tying each loan to tagged animals and feed inputs.
One point needs care. Launch reporting published no confirmed new public registration deadline for Phase 2. Readers should check the portal before assuming a window is open. A launch briefing mentioned 23,312 cards prepared by the launch date, described as a Phase 1 carry-over figure.
Status: Launched, registration window unconfirmed
| Item | Phase 1 | Phase 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Period | 2024 to 2025 | Launched 14 October 2026 |
| Recovery | 96% reported | Not yet reported |
| Total allocation | Not specified in reporting | Rs16.2 billion |
| Animals covered | Not specified in reporting | 600,000 over two years |
| Registration deadline | Not specified in reporting | No confirmed deadline published |
Phase 2 is launched, not merely announced. Registration timing, however, was not confirmed in launch reporting, which makes the portal check essential before any visit to an office or agent.
What the Livestock Card Phase 2 offers
Phase 2 gives an interest-free loan of Rs27,000 per animal for animal nutrition, covering:
- Wanda
- Silage
- Mineral mixtures
Farmers repay principal only, and government bears the interest. Up to 25% of the loan can be withdrawn as cash through an ATM. Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination come with the card. Earlier phases offered Rs135,000 for five animals up to Rs540,000 for twenty animals, which shows how the per-animal figure scales with herd size.
How the loan works in practice
Per-animal lending keeps the math simple. Each animal brings Rs27,000 for nutrition, and the amount grows with herd size. Earlier phases showed the scale, with Rs135,000 for five animals up to Rs540,000 for twenty animals. Those figures describe earlier phases, not a Phase 2 promise for every herd size. Cash flexibility stays limited. Up to 25% of the loan can come out through an ATM, while the rest stays tied to nutrition inputs. Repayment stays principal-only. Government bears the interest, which removes the markup burden that usually sits on farm credit. Tagging and vaccination run alongside the money. Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination come with the card, tying the loan to animal health records. Two-year horizon matters for planning. Phase 2 funding covers nutrition for 600,000 animals over two years, so the programme runs longer than a single season loan.
Who can benefit
Phase 2 of the Livestock Card is aimed at livestock farmers in Punjab with registered and tagged animals. Full Phase 2 eligibility and document lists were not published in launch reports, so confirmation must come from the Livestock Department or the portal. Not every livestock owner should assume qualification, since tagging and registration sit at the centre of the scheme.
How registration works
Registration runs through the online portal, with a round-the-clock helpline for guidance:
- Open plc.punjab.gov.pk
- Register with livestock and animal details
- Complete animal tagging where required
- Confirm loan and card details on the portal
- Call 0800-09211 for help at any hour
Livestock and Dairy Development Department Punjab runs the scheme. No agent or middleman is part of the registration route described in launch reporting, so applications should go through the portal or the helpline only.
What to check before applying
Since no confirmed new public registration deadline was published for Phase 2, the first step is confirming whether a window is open on plc.punjab.gov.pk. Animal tagging records matter as much as the application itself, because the scheme is built around registered and tagged animals. Farmers should also confirm the document list on the portal, since the full Phase 2 list was not published in launch reports.
Fees deserve caution too. Launch reporting describes no agent in the route, so a demand for payment from a middleman sits outside the official process.
Frequently asked questions
Phase 2 launched on 14 October 2026, but no confirmed new public registration deadline was published in launch reporting. Check plc.punjab.gov.pk before assuming a window is open.
Rs27,000 per animal, interest-free, for animal nutrition.
No. Farmers repay principal only, and government bears the interest.
Up to 25% of the loan can be withdrawn as cash through an ATM.
Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination.
0800-09211, available round the clock.
Phase 1 reported 96% recovery in 2024 to 2025.
600,000 animals over two years, funded through a Rs16.2 billion allocation.
Not on assumption alone. Phase 2 targets farmers with registered and tagged animals, and the full eligibility list was not published in launch reports.










