Breaking
Pakistan

CM Punjab Livestock Card Phase 2 Launched 2026

CM Punjab Livestock Card Phase 2 launched on 14 October 2026 with Rs27,000 per animal interest-free. Read benefits, eligibility and registration route.

Written by
Read time
4 min
Published
Filed under

CM Punjab Livestock Card Phase 2 was inaugurated on 14 October 2026, with the Chief Minister swiping a card at the launch. Phase 1 ran in 2024 to 2025 with 96% recovery reported. Phase 2 puts Rs16.2 billion into animal nutrition for 600,000 animals over two years, with farmers repaying principal only while government bears the interest.

Livestock feed costs press small farmers hard in winter, when wanda and silage prices climb. Phase 2 answers that pressure with nutrition finance rather than cash grants, tying each loan to tagged animals and feed inputs.

One point needs care. Launch reporting published no confirmed new public registration deadline for Phase 2. Readers should check the portal before assuming a window is open. A launch briefing mentioned 23,312 cards prepared by the launch date, described as a Phase 1 carry-over figure.

Status: Launched, registration window unconfirmed

ItemPhase 1Phase 2
Period2024 to 2025Launched 14 October 2026
Recovery96% reportedNot yet reported
Total allocationNot specified in reportingRs16.2 billion
Animals coveredNot specified in reporting600,000 over two years
Registration deadlineNot specified in reportingNo confirmed deadline published

Phase 2 is launched, not merely announced. Registration timing, however, was not confirmed in launch reporting, which makes the portal check essential before any visit to an office or agent.

What the Livestock Card Phase 2 offers

Phase 2 gives an interest-free loan of Rs27,000 per animal for animal nutrition, covering:

  • Wanda
  • Silage
  • Mineral mixtures

Farmers repay principal only, and government bears the interest. Up to 25% of the loan can be withdrawn as cash through an ATM. Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination come with the card. Earlier phases offered Rs135,000 for five animals up to Rs540,000 for twenty animals, which shows how the per-animal figure scales with herd size.

How the loan works in practice

Per-animal lending keeps the math simple. Each animal brings Rs27,000 for nutrition, and the amount grows with herd size. Earlier phases showed the scale, with Rs135,000 for five animals up to Rs540,000 for twenty animals. Those figures describe earlier phases, not a Phase 2 promise for every herd size. Cash flexibility stays limited. Up to 25% of the loan can come out through an ATM, while the rest stays tied to nutrition inputs. Repayment stays principal-only. Government bears the interest, which removes the markup burden that usually sits on farm credit. Tagging and vaccination run alongside the money. Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination come with the card, tying the loan to animal health records. Two-year horizon matters for planning. Phase 2 funding covers nutrition for 600,000 animals over two years, so the programme runs longer than a single season loan.

Who can benefit

Phase 2 of the Livestock Card is aimed at livestock farmers in Punjab with registered and tagged animals. Full Phase 2 eligibility and document lists were not published in launch reports, so confirmation must come from the Livestock Department or the portal. Not every livestock owner should assume qualification, since tagging and registration sit at the centre of the scheme.

How registration works

Registration runs through the online portal, with a round-the-clock helpline for guidance:

  1. Open plc.punjab.gov.pk
  2. Register with livestock and animal details
  3. Complete animal tagging where required
  4. Confirm loan and card details on the portal
  5. Call 0800-09211 for help at any hour

Livestock and Dairy Development Department Punjab runs the scheme. No agent or middleman is part of the registration route described in launch reporting, so applications should go through the portal or the helpline only.

What to check before applying

Since no confirmed new public registration deadline was published for Phase 2, the first step is confirming whether a window is open on plc.punjab.gov.pk. Animal tagging records matter as much as the application itself, because the scheme is built around registered and tagged animals. Farmers should also confirm the document list on the portal, since the full Phase 2 list was not published in launch reports.

Fees deserve caution too. Launch reporting describes no agent in the route, so a demand for payment from a middleman sits outside the official process.

Frequently asked questions

Is Livestock Card Phase 2 open for registration?

Phase 2 launched on 14 October 2026, but no confirmed new public registration deadline was published in launch reporting. Check plc.punjab.gov.pk before assuming a window is open.

How much is given per animal?

Rs27,000 per animal, interest-free, for animal nutrition.

Does the farmer pay interest?

No. Farmers repay principal only, and government bears the interest.

How much cash can be withdrawn?

Up to 25% of the loan can be withdrawn as cash through an ATM.

What else comes with the card?

Free animal tagging and foot-and-mouth disease vaccination.

What is the helpline number?

0800-09211, available round the clock.

How did Phase 1 perform on recovery?

Phase 1 reported 96% recovery in 2024 to 2025.

How many animals does Phase 2 cover?

600,000 animals over two years, funded through a Rs16.2 billion allocation.

Can every livestock owner qualify?

Not on assumption alone. Phase 2 targets farmers with registered and tagged animals, and the full eligibility list was not published in launch reports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket & Sports

Asia Cup, PSL, T20 World Cup and live score updates.

All sports